After three days of voting the preliminary results are finally out and EFFSC runs for second term.

DUT’s Independent Electoral Commission and Student governance released the preliminary results with Aphelele Ndabazandile of the EFFSC leading with 5013 votes followed by seven other EFFSC members who will be the in the SRC.

The SRC 2019 Durban Preliminary results.

DUT was painted red as the EFFSC supporters were wearing their party T shirts in celebration of their victory.

Their 2019 election campaign was under the banner izembe ‘axe’, which to them means they have managed to break through all hurdles that stood in their way.

Vutomi Mboweni from the EFF said that they are more that prepared going into office second time round.

“We know the responsibilities and we know what is expected from us” said Mboweni.

 Asked about why they changed from “Uphephela” to “Izembe” she said this was a way of fighting and making sure that they win.

SASCO Deputy President Sandile Ngcobo said that their sole purpose is to champion the students needs and that is what they came into the elections with that in mind.

“The students exercised their rights” said Ngcobo.

However, he says his party is waiting for the official results to learn more about the outcomes.

“We just have to go back and restrategise and see where we might errored at our level at own level at the Durban University of Technology” added Ngobo.

The EFFSC held a ‘funeral’ at Steve Biko Campus where they said they were burying SASCO, Find more pictures and videos on @officialradio on Instagram.

The final voting results will be made available on all DUT notice boards on the 3rd of September 2019 with the Inauguration taking place 3 days later on September 6 at Steve Biko Campus’ Fred Crook’s Sport Centre!

Nonhlanhla Hlatshwayo & Matshidiso Tsolo

No Comments:

Add a Comment

Leave a Reply